Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Tune in for the best information, innovation & inspiration to help you grow your family tree!

May 1, 2011

Published April 30, 2011

In this episode listeners chime in on Ancestry online trees, Lisa shares an inspiring story, and talks with Mike Litterst of the National Parks Service about the Civil War 150th Anniversary web site.

 

 

 

NEWS:

 

FamilySearch

Over at Family Search, with their most recent additions to the website they are now up to 600 free 

 

Southern California Genealogical Society Jamboree App

iPhone, iPod Touch & iPad: you get the app from the iTunes app store by searching for "genealogy" or 'jamboree" or point your iPhone's mobile browser to http://bit.ly/SCGS2011

All other phones like the Android, and BlackBerry: point your mobile browser to
http://m.core-apps.com/scgs2011

Check out the Jamboree app 
 

The Genealogy Gems Podcast APP for Android is now also available in the Amazon App Store.

 

Jamboree Webinar Extension Series

These are a great way to get to not only preview what’s coming at Jambopree, but also you get to  participate in some of the great presentations that happen at Jamboree even if you can’t make it there in person this year

 

View the the complete list

http://www.scgsgenealogy.com/JamboreeExtensionSeries2011.htm

 

Getting Your Notes and Sources Right in Your Genealogy Software

presented by Janet Hovorka of Generation Maps 

The Chartchick.com blog

 

Saturday, May 7, 2011   90 minues

10:00 AM  PDT

11:00 AM MDT

12:00 PM CDT

1:00 PM  EDT

 

Space is limited, so reserve your space now for the free webinar

 

RootsMagic Upcoming Free Webinars

Google Earth for Genealogy with Lisa Louise Cooke

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

5pm Pacific / 6pm MDT / 7pm Central / 8pm Eastern

 

Watch the recording of Google Search Tips and Tricks with Lisa Louise Cooke

http://rootsmagic.com/Webinars/

 

Home After 94 Years, a Fallen Hero’s Bible Lost in the Hell of the First World War

by an unnamed Daily Mail reporter

published on April 13, 2011

  

Learn more about the Great War in Genealogy Gems Premium Podcast episode 67

The Western Front Association at the Who Do You think You Are? Live conference 2011 in London

Become a Premium member 

 

 

MAILBOX:

 

Many listeners write in about Ancestry online trees.

 

Pam and Roxanne comment on the fact that the women in Steve Buscemi’s family tree on an episode of WDYTYA? were listed with their married names and not their maiden names.

 

"Thank you Lisa for all these wonderful podcasts, they are a highlight to my week and I always look forward to them.'

Roxanne, Vancouver BC

 

And finally, I always LOVE to hear when someone out there discovers the podcast, and Karen in Vermont did recently and wrote in:

 

"A few weeks ago I was delighted to find your two podcasts: Family History and Genealogy Gems.  I am a self-taught family historian who has been working on the genealogy of my husband and myself for the past several years.  I wish I had found your podcasts when they first came out.  They would have undoubtedly made my job much easier!…Thank you so much for your podcasts and I can't wait to work my way through them all to see what other discoveries I can make!"

 

 

GEM:  Interview with Mike Litterst of the National Parks Service

 

The Civil war Solders and Sailors System

 

The Civil War: 150 Years

 

 

NEWSLETTER:

Sign up for the free Genealogy Gems Podcast Newsletter and receive the free ebook – 5 Fabulous Google Search Strategies for the Family Historian.